20161024_195436

When I was younger, I always told myself that I was meant to do something with my life. Then again, at 5 years old I thought that meant being a long lost princess (if this is somehow true though, I will not turn down the offer. Just saying). Regardless, growing up and trying to determine what I wanted to do with my life was encouraged by this existential need to “be something”. This is why I dedicated the last 6 years of my life to marketing; hoping that this was a field that I would not only be happy and successful in, but also be able to accomplish something worthwhile. What I wasn’t expecting was to work in my field and feel like I chose the wrong path.

Jokes on me. But let’s be honest, who didn’t see that coming?

So marketing may not be something I’m passionate about. I don’t know what’s bugging me, but whatever it is, I feel stuck. And because of this doubt I feel myself getting drained and passive instead of enjoying my still very new post-graduate life.

Which is why we’re here again.

I made the executive decision to completely tear down my previous blog because ultimately, I felt like there was no point to it. Plus, it didn’t really feel like me. I wasn’t passionate about it and the voice was too forced. Besides, my life didn’t revolve around marketing anyways. There are other things that I am actually more interested in:

  1. Books
  2. Fashion/Art
  3. Living and eating in LA
  4. Writing

I think my biggest issue with my current path is that I don’t get to be as creative as I would like to be. Which results in me being in desperate need of a creative outlet. I’m still not entirely sure what direction I want to go with this or if I’m even serious about it, but at least I can use this to find out.

What’s kind of discouraging though is how cliché blogs are now. I’m almost embarrassed doing this. It feels like everyone is trying to have a lifestyle blog and that now it’s just a fad. It’s the “Generation of Me”. Here’s the thing though: I’m not even a good writer. And I definitely don’t think I actually have anything valuable to say. So why even do it? Because I need a creative outlet? Well…yea. But also, I’m just like every other person who attempts this:

I have a lot to say and a big enough ego to go through with it anyways.

So here’s the game plan for now: write about things I actually like in the hopes that I’ll feel somewhat fulfilled while adding some kind of value to the internet world all while trying not to give up (or get tired of it) after a week.

Good enough for now.

