Earlier this year I graduated from college. While that is a major accomplishment, I was mainly excited about finally being able to read again. Normally I’m only able to read for fun during the summer because I’m so busy with school reading boring case studies instead of Jane Austen. But now that that’s over, I’ve been able to read whatever I want, whenever I want. I don’t remember the last time I was able to read this many of my own books consecutively. In the spirit of ending yet another year, I’ve made a list of all the books I’ve read this year since my graduation in May with a pretty shitty one sentence explanation of each.

Catcher in the Rye* | J.D. Salinger

Melodramatic 16-year-old boy struggles with quarter life crisis.


Diary of an Oxygen Thief | Anonymous

Man who is a jerk to women gets what’s coming to him from an equally shitty woman.


Gone Girl | Gillian Flynn

A modern guide of how not to fix a marriage.


Horns | Joe Hill

If you’re ever worried about people thinking horrible things about you behind your back, this will validate that paranoia.


Manson: In His Own Words | Nuel Emmons

A reminder that a person’s past explains one’s behavior – but still doesn’t excuse murder.


One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest | Ken Kesey

Man who chooses to be deaf so everyone will leave him alone watches other man who wants everyone to notice him.


Pride and Prejudice* | Jane Austen

Don’t judge a book by its cover – or a person by their resting bitch face.


Ready Player One | Ernest Cline

Basically Charlie and the Chocolate Factory if Charlie had access to an oculus rift.


Tank Girl: Armadillo! | Alan C. Martin

Update: tanks are actually a girl’s best friend.


The Biography of Jack the Ripper | James Carnac

Man who claims to be Jack the Ripper also claims he never called himself Jack the Ripper.


The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette | Carolly Erickson

18th century fan fiction ft. the life and death of Marie Antoinette.


The Hunchback of Notre Dame | Victor Hugo

Nonstop miscommunication causes way more trouble than it should have.


The Invention of Murder: How the Victorians Reveled in Death and Detection and Created Modern Crime | Judith Flanders

An explanation of how death became the trend we know today.


Despite 2016 being an absolutely ridiculous year, it’s been a really great reading year for me.

Soo…because of the holidays, I haven’t really been able to write (a combination of Christmas shopping and being lazy). I still intend on continuing to write about my reading endeavors as soon as the new year begins (and will be more persistent about it, sorry). I’ve already started on the next post, and I cannot wait to share my thoughts on this book. Mainly because I have a lot of feelings about how this book went down and need the internet to know about my frustration and mind-fucked-ness.

But with a new year comes new books. And unlike this year, 2017 I’ll actually have the whole year to read whatever I want. That’s a lot of reading time, and I need equally as many books to fill up that time. I’m constantly scavenging for new books, which means I’m always open to suggestions. Do you know a book that is either amazing, horrible, or just plain “what the fuck did I read? I need someone else to read this so they can feel what I now feel”. Let me know! Any and all recommendations are always welcomed.

Until next time, wishing everyone a safe and happy New Years.

