I’ve written and rewritten this opening paragraph a few times in an attempt to make March sound like it was way more exciting than it really was. But no, it was just March, and just like every other month, I read as many books as I could. And just like this non-extraordinary month, this is just a normal, non-extraordinary recap of the books I read. But at least there’s double the books than last time, so that in itself makes this recap a little more enticing, at least for me.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Author: Maya Angelou

Genre: Autobiography

Description: The first of several autobiographies, Maya Angelou shares the story of her childhood in I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. While she writes about her struggles at home and in the world, she ultimately tells us what it meant for her to grow up as a Black female in modern America. (You can read a more in-depth review here)


20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Author: Jules Verne

Genre: Science Fiction / Adventure Fiction

Description: After being kidnapped at sea, three men become captives onboard the impressive submarine of Captain Nemo. Together, they roam the depths of the sea in the Nautilus, becoming witnesses to aquatic life many could only ever wish to dream of.


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Author: J. K. Rowling

Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Description: Eleven-year-old Harry Potter discovers he’s a wizard (insert “you’re a wizard” meme here) and begins his journey at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. During his first year, he learns about spells, quidditch, and a notorious evil wizard who wants him dead.


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Author: J. K. Rowling

Genre: Fantasy Fiction

Description: It’s Harry Potter’s second year at Hogwarts and things are only getting more exciting – and more dangerous. A secret chamber hidden somewhere in the school that holds one of the most feared monsters is opened, and Harry must figure out who opened it before someone gets killed.


So quick announcement. Earlier this month I went to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter and had my love of Harry Potter aggressively reignited. As a result, I’m reading the Harry Potter series. Again. For the 3rd time. Because why the fuck not. Anyways. Because of this, my posts this coming month might be a little different. Maybe I’ll write a review about all the books? Maybe I’ll write about how Harry’s character progressively becomes more and more sassy with each book? I don’t fucking know yet. But I’m just warning you that this coming month I will be Harry Potter trash. It’s up to you if you want to find out what that means.

